A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas || Review

img_8607

After procrastinating reading this book, I finally did it! I heard so many good things about A Court of Thorns and Roses on instagram that I knew I just HAD to read it some day. Although I normally don’t really enjoy Young Adult novels, I really (and then I mean REALLY) enjoyed reading this book.

Blurb
When nineteen-year-old huntress Feyre kills a wolf in the woods, a beast-like creature arrives to demand retribution. Dragged to a treacherous magical land she knows about only from legends, Feyre discovers that her captor is not an animal, but Tamlin—one of the lethal, immortal faeries who once ruled their world.

As she dwells on his estate, her feelings for Tamlin transform from icy hostility into a fiery passion that burns through every lie and warning she’s been told about the beautiful, dangerous world of the Fae. But an ancient, wicked shadow over the faerie lands is growing, and Feyre must find a way to stop it . . . or doom Tamlin—and his world—forever.
(Source: Goodreads)

Sarah J. Maas is the #1 New York Times bestselling author of the Throne of Glass series and A Court of Thorns and Roses series, as well as a USA Today and international bestselling author. Sarah wrote the first incarnation of the Throne of Glass series when she was just sixteen, and it has now sold in thirty-five languages. A New York native, Sarah currently lives in Pennsylvania with her husband and dog. Empire of Storms, the fifth Throne of Glass novel,is available now.

She graduated Magna Cum Laude from Hamilton College in 2008 with a degree in Creative Writing and a minor in Religious Studies.”
(Source: Sarahjmaas.com)

A lovely retelling of Beauty and the Beast
I was quite scared to start reading this book. What if I wouldn’t like it? I would definitely be the only one on instagram that would not like the series. But, luckily, that wasn’t the case. Not. At. All. I just LOVED it!

Since I didn’t really know what the story would be about, it took me a chapter to really come into the story. But after that, it was just one amazing rollercoaster ride through the events that took place. And man, did things happen. There were a lot of plottwists that just left me … heartbroken and/or shocked. I think that’s also what I liked most about the story: I really didn’t know what’d be next!

Where I normally don’t really like the strong, independent girls in YA novels (sorry, they can be really arrogant sometimes), I absolutely loved Feyre. Although I was a little confused about her choices sometimes, I totally stood behind most of them. They just made sense! In some YA novels I’ve read, the choices that were made by the main characters, just weren’t rational. In A Court of Thorns and Roses, although they broke my heart into a million pieces, they were.

And I haven’t even talked about the storyworld! The story takes place in this fantasy world, which consists of a couple of continents, but mostly in Prythian and the Mortal Lands. The history of the lands and the people who live there were really thought-through! Normally when I read fantasy novels, I’m a little confused about what’s what and who’s who and the relationships between the characters but not while reading ACoTaR. The book comes with a map, which helps the reader to get to know the lands really well, but you don’t really need it to understand the story (still, I want it on my wall). Everything is just explained so clearly!

The tension could be felt until the very end of the story. Although you could read the first book without reading the sequel, I’m very curious about what’ll happen next! I’ve heard that the second book is even better than the first one, so I CAN’T WAIT!

10,000/5 ★

2 thoughts on “A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas || Review

Leave a Reply

