November TBR

img_9247

Sorry for my absence the past few weeks! I had a lot to finish for uni, like my BA thesis! So, that’s what occupied my thoughts and actions and made me unable to write any blogposts or read a lot, for that matter. But now I’m back with my November TBR!

Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë
Orphaned into the household of her Aunt Reed at Gateshead, subject to the cruel regime at Lowood charity school, Jane Eyre nonetheless emerges unbroken in spirit and integrity.

She takes up the post of governess at Thornfield, falls in love with Mr. Rochester, and discovers the impediment to their lawful marriage in a story that transcends melodrama to portray a woman’s passionate search for a wider and richer life than Victorian society traditionally allowed.
(source: Goodreads)

I thought it was about time I read more classics, written by women. I’ve only read Northanger Abbey by Jane Austen so far. Now I’m currently reading Jane Eyre I remember why I don’t read classics that often (besides the ones for uni ofcourse): because I’m a sucker for action, thrillers and fastreads. And Jane Eyre isn’t any of that. There are parts that I really enjoy; the creepy parts, but unfortunately they get followed by a lot of monologues and thoughts on things and from there I lose my interest. Those are the parts my own thoughts wander off.

Wuthering Heights by Emily Brontë
Wuthering Heights is a wild, passionate story of the intense and almost demonic love between Catherine Earnshaw and Heathcliff, a foundling adopted by Catherine’s father. After Mr Earnshaw’s death, Heathcliff is bullied and humiliated by Catherine’s brother Hindley and wrongly believing that his love for Catherine is not reciprocated, leaves Wuthering Heights, only to return years later as a wealthy and polished man. He proceeds to exact a terrible revenge for his former miseries. The action of the story is chaotic and unremittingly violent, but the accomplished handling of a complex structure, the evocative descriptions of the lonely moorland setting and the poetic grandeur of vision combine to make this unique novel a masterpiece of English literature.
(source: Goodreads)

Since I was planning on reading more classics, this one is also on my November TBR. Unfortunately I don’t think I’ll get to it this month, but I’ll do my best! I’ve wanted to read this novel ever since I was a Twilight obsessed teenager. Bella Swan used to read and love Wuthering Heights so I should too right?

Pop Goes The Weasel by M.J. Arlidge
The body of a middle-aged man is discovered in Southampton’s red-light district – horrifically mutilated, with his heart removed.

Hours later – and barely cold – the heart arrives with his wife and children by courier.

A pattern emerges when another male victim is found dead and eviscerated, his heart delivered soon afterwards.

The media call it Jack the Ripper in reverse; revenge against the men who lead sordid double lives visiting prostitutes. For Grace, only one thing is certain: there’s a vicious serial-killer at large who must be halted at all costs . . .
(source: Goodreads)

I bought this book last week, after handing in some of my final assignments of the course for uni I followed in the past few weeks. As a reward! I’m happy I did that because all I want to do is read read read! As I mentioned earlier: I’m a sucker for action, thrillers and fastreads and contrary to Jane EyrePop Goes The Weasel is all of that! So, I’m currently reading this book besides Jane Eyre, for variation.

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman and Jay Kristoff
This morning, Kady thought breaking up with Ezra was the hardest thing she’d have to do.

This afternoon, her planet was invaded.

The year is 2575, and two rival megacorporations are at war over a planet that’s little more than an ice-covered speck at the edge of the universe. Too bad nobody thought to warn the people living on it. With enemy fire raining down on them, Kady and Ezra—who are barely even talking to each other—are forced to fight their way onto an evacuating fleet, with an enemy warship in hot pursuit.

But their problems are just getting started. A deadly plague has broken out and is mutating, with terrifying results; the fleet’s AI, which should be protecting them, may actually be their enemy; and nobody in charge will say what’s really going on. As Kady hacks into a tangled web of data to find the truth, it’s clear only one person can help her bring it all to light: the ex-boyfriend she swore she’d never speak to again.

Told through a fascinating dossier of hacked documents—including emails, schematics, military files, IMs, medical reports, interviews, and more—Illuminae is the first book in a heart-stopping, high-octane trilogy about lives interrupted, the price of truth, and the courage of everyday heroes.
(source: Goodreads)

Now that I’m writing this blogpost, I just KNOW I won’t get to reading this book this month. But just like with Wuthering Heights I’m going to try it anyways! I ordered this book as a reward for handing in my BA thesis last friday, but then I suddenly had to hand in my thesis on Tuesday. Luckily, this book arrived on Tuesday, so it still was a reward! I’ve heard so much good about this book and it looks very interesting! Can’t wait to read and see it for myself!

What’s your most anticipated tbr this month?

4 thoughts on “November TBR

Leave a Reply

