Pop Goes the Weasel by M. J. Arlidge || Review

img_9267

When I finally handed in my BA thesis on Nabokov’s Lolita I thought it was about time to reward myself. And what’s a better reward for a booknerd like myself, than a new book? Exactly, not much. So when I got back at the trainstation I dove into the bookstore and bought myself the second book in the Helen Grace series: Pop Goes the Weasel.

Earlier this year I wrote a review on Eeny Meeny by M. J. Arlidge (the first in the series), which you can find right over here (it’s in Dutch sorry)!

Blurb
DI Helen Grace returns in Pop Goes the Weasel, the electrifying new thriller from M. J. Arlidge.

The body of a middle-aged man is discovered in Southampton’s red-light district – horrifically mutilated, with his heart removed.

Hours later – and barely cold – the heart arrives with his wife and children by courier.

A pattern emerges when another male victim is found dead and eviscerated, his heart delivered soon afterwards.

The media call it Jack the Ripper in reverse; revenge against the men who lead sordid double lives visiting prostitutes. For Grace, only one thing is certain: there’s a vicious serial-killer at large who must be halted at all costs . . .
(source: Goodreads)

Review
Okay, I have to confess that I’m writing this review a tad late, because my thoughts on this book aren’t really fresh anymore. But I’ll try. Let’s begin with saying that it was not as impressive as Eeny Meeny, which doesn’t mean that I didn’t like it. Not at all! Just like in Eeny Meeny the first murder in Pop Goes the Weasel is exactly that: the first murder. Once again there is a serial killer at large and DI Helen Grace has to catch him or her. This is also why I didn’t like it as much as Eeny Meeny, because it was a little too much the same if you get what I mean … In Eeny Meeny you got to know a serial killer that isn’t exactly your average serial killer and in Pop Goes the Weasel it was, in my opinion.

BUT (and that’s a big but) where I’m normally right with my guesses when it comes to the plottwists, the plottwist in Pop Goes the Weasel wasn’t what I thought it’d be! I didn’t even come near it with what I had in mind, so that was a nice … plottwist in my reading experience!

Overall, it definitely was worth my time and I really enjoyed it! I wanted a nice thrilling thriller and that’s what I got!

★★★★.5/5

Tonight I’ll see Fantastic Beasts and Where to Find Them at the cinema and I’m so looking forward to it! Can’t wait to dive right back into the Harry Potter world!

Have you already seen FBaWtFT?

One thought on “Pop Goes the Weasel by M. J. Arlidge || Review

Leave a Reply

