December TBR

img_9318

Okay, we’re already eight days into December (and as I’m writing this I notice that I typed November instead of December in the titlebox. Time just flies by way too fast!), but it’s never to late to tell you which books I’d like to read in the coming month, right?

This month I only have to read three thin books for uni, so that means I got more time to read what I actually WANT to read! I have a goal of five (six) books, so I think I’ll end this fantastic year *coughs* with a total of about 80 books!

Lord of the Flies by William Golding
When a plane crashes on a remote island, a small group of schoolboys are the sole survivors. From the prophetic Simon and virtuous Ralph to the lovable Piggy and brutish Jack, each of the boys attempts to establish control as the reality – and brutal savagery – of their situation sets in.

The boys’ struggle to find a way of existing in a community with no fixed boundaries invites readers to evaluate the concepts involved in social and political constructs and moral frameworks. Ideas of community, leadership, and the rule of law are called into question as the reader has to consider who has a right to power, why, and what the consequences of the acquisition of power may be. Often compared to Catcher in the Rye, Lord of the Flies also represents a coming-of-age story of innocence lost.
(source: Goodreads)

I got this book by answering a couple of questions about democracy in the library! You could choose from three books and I chose this one, since it was the only one I knew haha! Nevertheless, I’ve heard that it’s a wonderful piece of literature and so far I really like it. I kind of makes me think of Animal Farm by George Orwell!

Illuminae by Amie Kaufman & Jay Kristoff
I actually started this book in November, so you can find more about my thoughts on starting this book over here! I finished this book on Monday and it read like a train. I think you can expect a review on this book anytime soon!

Ritual by Mo Hayder
Just after lunch on a Tuesday in April, nine feet underwater, police diver Flea Marley closes her gloved fingers around a human hand.
The fact that there’s no body attached is disturbing enough. Yet more disturbing is the discovery, a day later, of the matching hand. Both have been recently amputated, and the indications are that the victim was still alive when they were removed.
DI Jack Caffery has been newly seconded to the Major Crime Investigation Unit in Bristol. He and Flea soon establish that the hands belong to a boy who has recently disappeared.
Their search for him – and for his abductor – leads them into the darkest recesses of Bristol’s underworld, where drug addiction is rife, where street-kids sell themselves for a hit, and where an ancient evil lurks; an evil that feeds off the blood – and flesh – of others.
(source: Goodreads)

As I looked up the blurb of this book I found out (once again) that this actually is the third book in a series about DI Jack Caffery … When will I learn. Oh well, I hope it won’t matter and I’ve experience in starting in the middle of a series, and most of the time it turned out just fine!

The Stranger/The Outsider by Albert Camus
Meursault will not pretend. After the death of his mother, everyone is shocked when he shows no sadness. And when he commits a random act of violence in Algiers, society is baffled. Why would this seemingly law-abiding bachelor do such a thing? And why does he show no remorse even when it could save his life? His refusal to satisfy the feelings of others only increases his guilt in the eyes of the law. Soon Meursault discovers that he is being tried not simply for his crime, but for his lack of emotion – a reaction that condemns him for being an outsider. For Meursault, this is an insult to his reason and a betrayal of his hopes; for Camus it encapsulates the absurdity of life.
(source: Goodreads)

I finished this book yesterday and I don’t really know what to think of it. We will discuss it in the seminar in about two weeks, so I hope I’ll change my rating of three stars after that!

Season of Migration to the North by Tayeb Salih
After years of study in Europe, the young narrator of Season of Migration to the North returns to his village along the Nile in the Sudan. It is the 1960s, and he is eager to make a contribution to the new postcolonial life of his country. Back home, he discovers a stranger among the familiar faces of childhood—the enigmatic Mustafa Sa’eed. Mustafa takes the young man into his confidence, telling him the story of his own years in London, of his brilliant career as an economist, and of the series of fraught and deadly relationships with European women that led to a terrible public reckoning and his return to his native land.

But what is the meaning of Mustafa’s shocking confession? Mustafa disappears without explanation, leaving the young man—whom he has asked to look after his wife—in an unsettled and violent no-man’s-land between Europe and Africa, tradition and innovation, holiness and defilement, and man and woman, from which no one will escape unaltered or unharmed.
(source: Goodreads)

I have to reread this book for uni and that’s a good thing because I don’t really remember much about it (I tend to do that way too often …)

Besides Illuminae I also finished Jane Eyre by Charlotte Brontë at the beginning of this month. So, of the six books I wanted to read/finish in the month of December I already finished three! I think I will have a lot of time left to choose another leisure read (like Harry Potter #1 or Misery by Stephen King), but you’ll see if I get to that in my December Wrap Up at the end of this month (whoooh, cliffhanger!)

What’s your most anticipated December read?

Leave a Reply

