Holiday and Birthday Bookhaul

img_9609

The days after the holidays and my birthday are always a bit depressing. But, luckily, I got some nice books to spend my time with until the holidays of 2017. Only 351 more days!

Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone by J. K. Rowling (Illustrated edition)

Prepare to be spellbound by Jim Kay’s dazzling depiction of the wizarding world and much loved characters in this full-colour illustrated hardback edition of the nation’s favourite children’s book – Harry Potter and the Philosopher’s Stone. Brimming with rich detail and humour that perfectly complements J.K. Rowling’s timeless classic, Jim Kay’s glorious illustrations will captivate fans and new readers alike.

When a letter arrives for unhappy but ordinary Harry Potter, a decade-old secret is revealed to him that apparently he’s the last to know. His parents were wizards, killed by a Dark Lord’s curse when Harry was just a baby, and which he somehow survived. Leaving his unsympathetic aunt and uncle for Hogwarts School of Witchcraft and Wizardry, Harry stumbles upon a sinister mystery when he finds a three-headed dog guarding a room on the third floor. Then he hears of a missing stone with astonishing powers, which could be valuable, dangerous – or both. An incredible adventure is about to begin!
(source: Goodreads)

I got this book for Christmas from my boyfriend and I couldn’t have been happier! I’d admired this gorgeous book on instagram for a long time and now I finally have it on my shelf! The story is the same as the one we grew up with, but this edition contains some beautiful illustrations by Jim Kay. It really makes the reading experience even more wonderful!

The Hobbit by J. R. R. Tolkien

Bilbo Baggins is a hobbit who enjoys a comfortable, unambitious life, rarely travelling further than the pantry of his hobbit-hole in Bag End. But his contentment is disturbed when the wizard, Gandalf, and a company of thirteen dwarves arrive on his doorstep one day to whisk him away on an unexpected journey ‘there and back again’. They have a plot to raid the treasure hoard of Smaug the Magnificent, a large and very dangerous dragon.

The prelude to The Lord of the Rings, The Hobbit has sold many millions of copies since its publication in 1937, establishing itself as one of the most beloved and influential books of the twentieth century.
(source: Goodreads)

This is the book I got my boyfriend for Christmas (I also bought it a little for myself of course). We already have the full Lord of the Rings trilogy in the same edition by Harper Collins on our shelf and now we only need the Silmarillion to complete this collection! I’ve already seen the movies and I can’t wait to read the book!

The next book is written in Dutch and not translated to English, so I’ll post the blurb in Dutch, but I’ll try to translate it to English! 

Het Smelt by Lize Spit

Wat als je wraak kunt nemen op een heel dorp?

Dertien jaar na een zomer die volledig uit de hand liep, keert Eva terug naar haar geboortedorp met een blok ijs in de kofferbak. Gaandeweg wordt duidelijk dat zij dit keer de plannen bepaalt.

In haar geboortejaar werden slechts twee andere kinderen geboren in het kleine Vlaamse Bovenmeer, twee jongens. De drie maken er hun hele jeugd samen maar het beste van. Tot de bloedhete zomer van 2002. Want jongens worden pubers en krijgen wrede plannen. De bedeesde Eva kan meedoen of oprotten. Die keuze is geen keuze — wie verraadt er nou z’n eigen vrienden?
(source: Goodreads)

* Thirteen years after a Summer that went completely wrong, Eva returns back home to her birthplace with a block of ice in her trunk. This time it’s her who makes up the rules. In the year Eva was born, only two other boys were born in the same village. The three grow up as best friends. That is, until the Summer of 2002. The boys become teenagers and with puberty come problems. The boys make up some evil plans and Eva has the choice to join them or to go away. But does Eva really have a choice – who will betray their own friends? *

My Dad gave me this book for my birthday on January the 4th! I hadn’t ever heard of it, but my Dad said that it was highly praised on the telly and other media. Also, the blurb sounds very intruiging so I’m really curious! Thanks Dad!

What was the last book you got as a gift?

7 thoughts on “Holiday and Birthday Bookhaul

  1. YESSSS THE HOBBIT. That was the book that first got me in to fantasy; I remember my dad reading it out loud to me as a bedtime story when I was eight or nine.

    I’ve been wanting the illustrated Harry Potter’s! The trouble is that I’ve already read them (I very rarely reread books), and I just can’t justify buying a book I’ll never read again. But oh, it’s so pretty!

    I think the last book I was gifted was The Foxhole Court by Nora Sakavic.

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Like

    1. I absolutely loved the films of The Hobbit, but I’ve never read it! It must be lovely to listen to it, Tolkiens language is just so very wonderful!
      I really like rereading Harry Potter and especially with Jim Kay’s lovely illustrations!!

      Like

Leave a Reply

