Ragdoll by Daniel Cole || Review

IMG_0092

Ever since I saw this book at the bookshop, I knew I’d buy it anytime soon. The blurb makes it sound like THE perfect thriller and the Dutch version (I bought the English one though) looks really cool! The spine of the book is made like it’s sewn, if that makes any sense at all, so you already get a sense of what’s waiting between the pages.

Blurb

A body is discovered with the dismembered parts of six victims stitched together like a puppet, nicknamed by the press as the ‘ragdoll’.

Assigned to the shocking case are Detective William ‘Wolf’ Fawkes, recently reinstated to the London Met, and his former partner Detective Emily Baxter.

The ‘Ragdoll Killer’ taunts the police by releasing a list of names to the media, and the dates on which he intends to murder them.

With six people to save, can Fawkes and Baxter catch a killer when the world is watching their every move?
(Goodreads)


Review

Okay, I’ve read many thrillers in my life, but this one is now definitely one of my faves and I will definitely keep on following Detective William Fawkes (aka. Wolf). Since it’s not really a secret I will just say that the story starts off with the discovery of a human ragdoll. Six people have been murdered and some of their bodyparts have been sewed back up together. A bit like Frankenstein perhaps? (luckily, this one doesn’t come to life pfew).

After this discovery the murderer provides the press with a new list of victims-to-be. I thought this was really interesting, since the police now know whom they have to protect, so it would be really difficult for the killer to come close enough to the future victims and to kill them. Or at least, that’s what I thought. How dull would a thriller be if there is only one (or well, six murders actually) murder to solve? Yes, really dull. Will the killer be able to kill the victims-to-be? And how on earth would he be able to, since the people are surrounded by police officers at an unknown location?

I found the journalists in the story a little too … inhuman. They really enjoy the killings and are really excited when they catch a murder on camera. Uhm. Someone just has been killed in a gruesome way and you only care whether you caught it on camera or not? Wattt?

At the end of the story I got a little confused, as I’m used to while reading a thriller. In every (good) thriller there is a moment when everyone seems to know what’s going on, except for me. But luckily most times that means that I didn’t see the plottwist coming and this was the case with Ragdoll. THE PLOTTWIST. SO GOOD. It really was a plottwist you would not expect when reading a series … and I’M REALLY TRYING NOT TO SPOIL ANYTHING OMG, so that was an abrupt end to the sentence.

Another thing I just loved was the change in focalization (the point of view in some passages). It was really subtle and not confusing at all, but at the same time very different from other detective-thrillers I’ve read. And because you get to read the story from many different perspectives, you get to know a lot about the characters that I’ll hopefully see again in the second book in the series!

I will stop now, before I’m going to spoil anything. Just read it. It will be worth it.

5/5 ★

Leave a Reply

