Hard to Love by S. Jones || Review + Giveaway!

Hard love_banner

Happy release day to Hard to Love by S. Jones!

Blurb

Leaving a safe, predictable relationship and falling straight into the center of a whirlwind was never part of Emily’s plans.

From that very moment when the stranger’s hand takes her by the wrist, she is thrust into a world where she is flooded with feelings she cannot ignore.

Torn between her head and her heart, she quickly realizes that fighting her attraction to Chase Newman is an impossible task. He’s a man who always gets what he wants and with his sights set on Emily, she doesn’t stand a chance. A one-night stand will never be enough though, when she wants so much more than that.

When secrets and lies threaten to destroy the trust between them, Emily starts to question her own decisions. With doubt and suspicion plaguing her mind, is what they have worth fighting for? Or will the truth tear them apart?
(Goodreads)


Review

Okay, I have a lot to say about this book. And not all is that positive. I mean, I really liked reading this book, and it read like a train, but there were just some minor things that, added up, began to really annoy me in the end.

Where to start, where to start? Let’s just start off with some of the things that annoyed me, so I can end on a positive note! While reading the book I noticed that a couple of sentences got repeated over and over again. Sentences like the well-known: “My lungs finally released the breath I didn’t realize I had been holding.” I mean, I can handle this sentence coming by once, maybe twice, but it appeared at least three times and that’s just a little too much imho!

I also got some minor 50 shades vibes, and not the good ones. I found Chase to be very agressive from time to time (like the time when he’s jealous and throws Emily’s phone to the wall, where it breaks. Sorry, but if Pieter’d do that, I’d be gone in a second thank you very much) and also a little too demanding and dominant. I get that he’s a jealous man, but he has to understand that he doesn’t own Emily, especially since they only know each other for what? two weeks? From this you can maybe already get how much drama there was in this book. One drama followed another and that got followed by yet another! I love drama, but this was a little too much. I think Jones could’ve made the book a little shorter and maybe I’d have loved it a little more then.

But beside the drama there also was the perfection of Chase and the love between them that began to irritate me at the end. Chase is this extremely goodlooking guy, with a lot of muscles (what’s a romance without a muscular man, right? Men with bellies aren’t attractive, right? (just kidding of course)) and he’s not only a beast when he breaks Emily’s phone, but also a beast in bed. That’s a positive thing of course, but it seemed like he got a boner every time he laid eyes on Emily. A little too much if you ask me. Sometimes you just want to sleep. At least, I know I do.

Okay, on to the positive sides. I think Jones did a great job on building character and I really came to care about both Chase and Emily. Although I think there’s a little too much drama, I think it would make a lovely romance TV series because of that! It’s really a pity that the book was a little on the long side, to me, because I loved the plotline and the characters.

I have to confess that, while writing this review, I haven’t yet finished reading the book. I’m now 79% in, but I plan on finishing it tonight!!

2.5/5 ★

Giveaway!

Head on over to Sandra’s facebook page to enter her giveaway to win a $25 Amazon Gift Card, Signed Paperback AND Alex & Ani Bracelet.  https://www.facebook.com/authorsandrajones/

*I received an electronical copy of this book in exchange for an honest review*

3 thoughts on “Hard to Love by S. Jones || Review + Giveaway!

Leave a Reply

