May book haul

IMG_0394

This month I bought way less books than I thought I would. Mostly because I still have about 90 unread books on my shelves, and I reallyreally want to actually read them … Oh well, here are the four books I got in the month of May!

The Endless Autumn by Annabelle Knight

Autumn thought she had everything: a gorgeous stud of a boyfriend, a practical if unexciting PA job at Thorne PR, a savvy best friend, and a soon-to-be earned journalism diploma.

But things in her perfectly constructed world shift when Autumn discovers a life shattering secret.

Needing to change her life drastically Autumn meets a mysterious and sexy stranger who could be the solution to her problems.

Autumn is thrown into a luxurious new world. One that is powered by high flyers, fantasies and carnal desires. How will she escape? Or, does this new world hold the key to her own fulfilment?

Annabelle Knight’s debut novel The Endless Autumn is a sizzling, steamy and sexually sinister story of how a girl next door, unwittingly – but perhaps not unwillingly – explores the fringes of desire and release.
(Goodreads)

I’m part of the booktour from June 26th to 30th of this book, so I got a paper copy of this book in exchange for an honest review. The blurb of it sounds very steamy and it kinda reminds me of Behind the Door by A. Gavazzoni (minus the thriller part I think). I absolutely loved that book, so I’m really looking forward to reading The Endless Autumn!


A Court of Wings and Ruin by Sarah J. Maas

Looming war threatens all Feyre holds dear in the third volume of the #1 New York Times bestselling A Court of Thorns and Roses series.

Feyre has returned to the Spring Court, determined to gather information on Tamlin’s maneuverings and the invading king threatening to bring Prythian to its knees. But to do so she must play a deadly game of deceit-and one slip may spell doom not only for Feyre, but for her world as well.

As war bears down upon them all, Feyre must decide who to trust amongst the dazzling and lethal High Lords-and hunt for allies in unexpected places.

In this thrilling third book in the #1 New York Times bestselling series from Sarah J. Maas, the earth will be painted red as mighty armies grapple for power over the one thing that could destroy them all.
(Goodreads)

Yep, I still haven’t read or even started reading this book, because I’m scARED AS FUCK. Sorry. But somewhere I just don’t want to know how this trilogy ends, because I’m not ready for more heartbreak. My heart still isn’t yet healed from reading ACOMAF past Autumn … So, no spoilers please.


IT by Stephen King

It was the children who saw – and feel – what made the small town of Derry so horribly different. In the storm drains, in the sewers, IT lurks, taking on the shape of every nightmare, each one’s deepest dread.

Time passes and the children grow up, move away and forget. Until they are called back, once more to confront IT as it sirs and coils in the sullen depths of their memories, reaching up again to make their past nightmares a terrible present reality.
(Goodreads)

I think it was three Summers ago that I started reading IT. I have never finished it. Mainly because the library wanted the book back, but also because it is a real, humongous monster. It’s about 1400 pages thick and when it arrived I had troubles picking it up with just one hand. In June I will be part of a readalong on Johann’s instagram, and we will read one part of IT every week. I think that will be the perfect motivation to get through it! 


Into the Water by Paula Hawkins

A single mother turns up dead at the bottom of the river that runs through town. Earlier in the summer, a vulnerable teenage girl met the same fate. They are not the first women lost to these dark waters, but their deaths disturb the river and its history, dredging up secrets long submerged.

Left behind is a lonely fifteen-year-old girl. Parentless and friendless, she now finds herself in the care of her mother’s sister, a fearful stranger who has been dragged back to the place she deliberately ran from—a place to which she vowed she’d never return.

With the same propulsive writing and acute understanding of human instincts that captivated millions of readers around the world in her explosive debut thriller, The Girl on the Train, Paula Hawkins delivers an urgent, twisting, deeply satisfying read that hinges on the deceptiveness of emotion and memory, as well as the devastating ways that the past can reach a long arm into the present.

Beware a calm surface—you never know what lies beneath.
(Goodreads)

I must admit that I didn’t even read the blurb of this book before buying it. A year ago I read The Girl on the Train and because I loved that one, I was sure I’d love this one as well. I’m now about 50 pages in and after a kind of confusing start I’m slowly getting really into this story as well!


What was the last book you bought?

2 thoughts on “May book haul

  1. Does IT take place in the same universe as 11/22/63? They both involve a town called Derry where something is seriously, supernaturally wrong….Regardless, I look forward to hearing your thoughts on IT! I’m just getting into Stephen King, and I’m always looking for recs of which of his books to pick up next.

    Recently, I bought Salt to the Sea by Ruta Sepetys and Note to Self by Connor Franta 🙂

    Ellie | On the Other Side of Reality

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Oh yes, I know IT does take place in Derry, but I haven’t read 11/22/63 yet, so I wouldn’t know about that one 🙊 I will definitely post a review on here as soon as I’m done with IT! 😊

      Like

Leave a Reply

