June TBR

photo_2017-05-31_17-57-38

I’m now two books behind schedule on my Goodreads reading challenge. This month I hope to catch up on my challenge so I can end 2017 with 90 (or more) read books! Continue reading to find the books I plan on reading in June.

IT by Stephen King

It was the children who saw – and feel – what made the small town of Derry so horribly different. In the storm drains, in the sewers, IT lurks, taking on the shape of every nightmare, each one’s deepest dread.

Time passes and the children grow up, move away and forget. Until they are called back, once more to confront IT as it sirs and coils in the sullen depths of their memories, reaching up again to make their past nightmares a terrible present reality.
(Goodreads)

I’m reading this book as part of a readalong on Johann’s instagram account this month! The newest filmadaptation will come out in September this year, so if I’m not able to finish it this month I’ll still have two months to do it!


Revenants: The Odyssey Home by Scott Kauffman

A grief-stricken candy-striper serving in a VA hospital following her brother’s death in Viet Nam struggles to return home an anonymous veteran of the Great War against the skullduggery of a congressman who not only controls the hospital as part of his small-town fiefdom but knows the name of her veteran. A name if revealed would end his political ambitions and his fifty-year marriage. In its retelling of Odysseus’ journey, Revenants casts a flickering candle upon the charon toll exacted not only from the families of those who fail to return home but of those who do.
(Goodreads)

I’m now halfway through the book, but I think it’s a real slow one. I was warned by both users on Goodreads and the author himself, that the start can be kind of slow to read, but I’d think that after 150 pages or so, it would read a little faster. I really like the concept of the story; it’s original, but sometimes I read a chapter of which I literally remember nothing when I finish it. I’ve even tried to read a chapter twice (because I didn’t understand a thing because I drank a glass of wine (or two)), but that didn’t make it any clearer. Oh well, I will give it another try this month and let you know in my review what I think of it when, and if, I finish it!


Blindness by José Saramago

A city is hit by an epidemic of “white blindness” that spares no one. Authorities confine the blind to an empty mental hospital, but there the criminal element holds everyone captive, stealing food rations and assaulting women. There is one eyewitness to this nightmare who guides her charges—among them a boy with no mother, a girl with dark glasses, a dog of tears—through the barren streets, and their procession becomes as uncanny as the surroundings are harrowing. As Blindness reclaims the age-old story of a plague, it evokes the vivid and trembling horrors of the twentieth century, leaving readers with a powerful vision of the human spirit that’s bound both by weakness and exhilarating strength.
(Goodreads)

I already read (half of) Seeing, the sequel, for uni in 2016but actually didn’t understand a thing. I thought that was because I hadn’t read the first book. This one. The blurb sounds really, really, intruiging, so I hope I’ll love it!


Maus by Art Spiegelman

Combined for the first time here are Maus I: A Survivor’s Tale and Maus II – the complete story of Vladek Spiegelman and his wife, living and surviving in Hitler’s Europe. By addressing the horror of the Holocaust through cartoons, the author captures the everyday reality of fear and is able to explore the guilt, relief and extraordinary sensation of survival – and how the children of survivors are in their own way affected by the trials of their parents. A contemporary classic of immeasurable significance.
(Goodreads)

I’m kind of in the mood for another graphic narrative, so I hope I’ll get to read Maus this month!


The Doll’s House by M.J. Arlidge

A young woman wakes up in a cold, dark cellar, with no idea how she got there or who her kidnapper is. So begins her terrible nightmare.

Nearby, the body of another young woman is discovered buried on a remote beach. But the dead girl was never reported missing – her estranged family having received regular texts from her over the years. Someone has been keeping her alive from beyond the grave.

For Detective Inspector Helen Grace it’s chilling evidence that she’s searching for a monster who is not just twisted but also clever and resourceful – a predator who’s killed before.

And as Helen struggles to understand the killer’s motivation, she begins to realize that she’s in a desperate race against time . . .
(Goodreads)

This is the third book in the DI Helen Grace series by M.J. Arlidge and I loved the first two books! Whenever I’m in a reading slump, or just want to read a quick read, I grab a thriller. They read so fast and are so full of suspense that I (a not-so-fast-reader, imo) am even able to finish most of them in only two or three days!


The Endless Autumn by Annabelle Knight

Autumn thought she had everything: a gorgeous stud of a boyfriend, a practical if unexciting PA job at Thorne PR, a savvy best friend, and a soon-to-be earned journalism diploma.

But things in her perfectly constructed world shift when Autumn discovers a life shattering secret.

Needing to change her life drastically Autumn meets a mysterious and sexy stranger who could be the solution to her problems.

Autumn is thrown into a luxurious new world. One that is powered by high flyers, fantasies and carnal desires. How will she escape? Or, does this new world hold the key to her own fulfilment?

Annabelle Knight’s debut novel The Endless Autumn is a sizzling, steamy and sexually sinister story of how a girl next door, unwittingly – but perhaps not unwillingly – explores the fringes of desire and release.
(Goodreads)

I got a paper copy of this book in exchange for an honest review on June the 29th! I’m really looking forward to reading this steamy book!


Okay, maybe I’m slightly overestimating myself this month, but most times I exceed my monthly TBR’s by two or three books, so I think I’ll make it. Although … IT is actually three books in one … But let’s not think about that right now and just keep up the hope that I’ll be able to finish these six books this month! I have a reading challenge to catch up on!!

Leave a Reply

